Holding Up a Mirror to Their Hearts

I’m sure the question being asked by my family from Thousand Oaks to Glendora to Englewood, CO is “Why is Daniel doing this?”  There are a lot of reasons, here are just a few.

I’m holding up a mirror to their hearts.  I doubt my cousins really ever had resolve what they were told to think with the reality of the world.  I doubt they ever really thought about who they were hurting.  It’s very easy to think of “those gays” as some nebulous foreign group and happily take away their rights without much thought.  But taking away people’s rights is despicable.  I want to hold up a mirror and show them how much ugliness they have in their hearts.

I want to shock them.  I sent everyone an email before the election about prop 8.  Only one person replied to me.  I gave everyone the opportunity to call and talk to me about the issue over the weekend.  No one called me.  Instead they pretended this issue wasn’t about their cousin but about some failed idea of the sanctity of marriage few of them even live by.  With this blog I hope to shock them into seeing the truth.  Sharon said in an earlier comment:

I know you are upset terribly over Prop 8, but to release all of this venom on your family who I consider to be decent human beings, I just don’t get it.

What kind of decent human being would vote to take away the rights of anyone much less one of their own family members?  That is something I don’t get.  She never said I was a decent human being.  Of course not I’m gay and they all believe I’m going to hell.  I’m surprised they tolerated me at all over the years.

I want to open discussion.  My family is very good at not discussing tough issues.  No one wants to have courageous conversations.  I want to rattle the cage doors so they can’t ignore me any more.  They have to deal with this topic.  My parents who love and support me will have to spend time with people who believe I am a second class citizen and actively took part to make me one.

silence_equals_deathSilence = Death.  Well maybe not death anymore.  The Silence Equals Death slogan was a bit part of the Act Up movement in the 80s and 90s to find AIDS.  I was a little young for the beginnings of this and not really very political in college.  Now is my time to fight the good fight.  Marriage Equality Now!  We won’t shut up until we get it so just give up already.

 

GOD was knocking on my door.  Steve said in an earlier comment:

Daniel, in your words I’m hearing you describe that same kind inexpressible pain that many of us have experienced. Daniel, that is simply the Lord knocking at your door.

If you read the whole comment he goes on and on with the door knocking metaphor.  Steve was right, but not in the way he was intending to be.  GOD has been knocking at my door for years.  On Wednesday I opened the door.  I know my true calling is to spread the word about the one true infinite GOD of time, space, and awareness.  (More on that in another post.)  I know I must show the zombie worshippers that there’s is not the way.  I must show them that they are doing bad things in the name of their zombie god just like millions of misguided people since Paul took it upon himself to spread his tales of the life of some guy he never met throughout the Roman Empire.

2 Comments »

  1. Imagine a doctor who knew his patient had a terminal illness and didn’t warn him or share the cure! Silence=Death. We all have a terminal illness, “All have sinned…the wages of sin is death (Rom 3:23, 6:23). “Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived. Neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals, nor sodomites, nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards…will inherit the kingdom of God” (1 Cor 6:9-10, Rom 1:18-2:11). The Lord Jesus Christ died for our sins in our place. How must we respond? “If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” (Rom 10:9-10) “Whoever conceals his transgressions will not prosper, but he who confesses and forsakes them will obtain mercy.” (Prov 28:10, Lu 13:3) Silence=Death. “If anyone would come after Me, let him deny himself, take up his cross and follow Me.” (Mk 8:34-38, Mt 7:13-27) http://www.RedeemedScoundrels.com

    Friend, if your family members are not living by the sexual purity demanded in the Bible (such as fornication), then it must be that they aren’t saved. God is clear about this issue- whether it is fornication, adultery, homosexuality- they are all forms of idolatry (Eph 5:3-5, Romans 1:24-28)- things people hold onto instead of surrendering to the Lord Jesus Christ, who demands allegiance to Him first and denial of our lusts. Many a homosexual says, “I was born this way”. Yes, scripture says we’re all born in sin. For the homosexual, they are born with a sin nature that gravitates toward lusts with the same sex. For the heterosexual, our sin nature gravitates toward lusts with the opposite sex. Both are wrong- only the marriage bed is holy (Heb 13:4) God made marriage as a commitment “till death do us part” and it is between man and woman (Genesis 2:24-25) and it is not firstly for fulfilling our sexual desires, but for raising up godly offspring (Malachi 2:15) with a stable, loving, committed, till death do us part covenant that mirrors the covenant that Jesus Christ has eternally made with His church (Eph 5:22-33)- those who have repented and trusted Him as Lord and Savior and obey the gospel.
    One thing you do in your blog about your family that may or may not be true- you assume they hate you because you are gay. I don’t know your family, so I can’t comment. I do know that I’ve met homosexuals that assume their family hates them because they reject their homosexuality. That simply does not follow. I care enough for you to write you the truth of how you can escape certain judgment by surrendering every area of your life to Jesus Christ as Lord (not just your sex life, but everything), and to enter into a close relationship with Him. I don’t hate you, I care for you. The scriptures are clear that “narrow is the door that leads to life and few find it” (Matt 7:13) For all I know, maybe all your family isn’t saved, though they probably are all church goers. How to know if they’re saved? Jesus said, “You will know them by their fruit” (Matt 7:20)- the fruit of repentance, of a changed life that is living for the Lord Jesus Christ. Jesus warned, “Not everyone who says to Me ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness” (Matt 7:21-23) Friend, the scriptures are painfully clear that those who practice sexual immorality are not saved, but are practicing lawlessness and will end up in hell if they don’t repent and follow the Lord Jesus Christ.
    Your soul is of such value that Jesus gave this illustration of what we must do for our soul: “You have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’ But I say to you that whoever looks at a woman (or man) to lust for her (him) has already committed adultery with her in his heart. If your right eye causes you to sin, pluck it out and cast it from you; for it is more profitable for you that one of your members perish, than for your whole body to be cast into hell. And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and cast it from you; for it is more profitable for you that one of your members perish, than for your whole body to be cast into hell” (Matt 5:27-30) The stakes are eternal. God warns, “Whoever commits sin (continual tense) also commits lawlessness, and sin is lawlessness. And you know that He was manifested to take away our sins, and in Him there is no sin. Whoever abides in Him does not sin (continuous tense). Whoever sins (continuous tense) has neither seen Him nor known Him. Little children, let no one deceive you. He who practices righteousness is righteous, just as He is righteous. He who sins (continuous tense) is of the devil, for the devil has sinned from the beginning. For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil. Whoever has been born of God does not sin (continuous tense), for His seed (the Holy Spirit, upon being born again) remains in him; and he cannot sin (continuous tense), because he has been born of God” (1 John 3:4-10). The fact is, there are very few Christians in America, though many profess it. We know they aren’t saved, because they continue practicing their sin. When the Lord Jesus Christ gives spiritual birth, there is a cleaning of house, letting go of lawlessness, following Him, letting sin go by the wayside. I’m so grateful He delivered me from all my lusts for the opposite sex, and I depend on Him every day to continue to deliver me. “You shall call His name Jesus, for He will save His people from their sins” (Matt 1:21). Friend, do you love your sin more than Jesus? Will you burn in your lusts forever in hell, or will you honor the Lord Jesus Christ by crying out to Him, confessing your sexual sin as He sees it, an abomination, and cry out for forgiveness and strength to live for and follow Him?
    I happened by your site- won’t be back here. If you want to talk, email me. I look forward to the possibility of seeing you in heaven.

    IN Christs Love,
    Mike

  2. Daniel said

    Wow, that’s a long comment about this blog I forgot about. I wish people like this guy would put this much effort into making the world a better place than all the time spent quoting from a collection of ancient fictional writings. Neither god, Jesus, the devil, sin, heaven, nor hell exist and when one comes to that conclusion, it’s a wonderful freeing feeling. Also, I never said my family hates me or I think that my family hates me so stop making up stories. They still love me in their twisted brainwashed way.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment