Lose-Lose

My cousin Steve called me over the weekend. He actually called while I was in the middle of the protest at Volunteer Park. Even if I wanted to pick up then, it was so loud I wouldn’t have been able to hear him. I called him back on Sunday. We had a nice conversation. He told me about a new concept for me called Legalism. In Christianity that when people are way to caught up on following the presumed laws laid out in the bible and the completely miss the ultimate goals the are being taught. Kind of like when the Mormon church raises $25,000,000 to take away the rights of a minority group instead of feeding the poor or clothing the sick.

Anyway Steve at one point called Prop 8 a lose-lose situation. I didn’t quite understand what he meant by that at the time and we moved on to another topic. After the call I remembered that and understood what he meant. To me there’s no lose-lose aspect. You either support the bigots who want to take rights away from a legally defined minority group under California law, or you don’t. It turns out this cousin didn’t vote yes on Prop 8 like I thought. He didn’t vote no either. He left this one blank. For him, one side of the “lose-lose” is the same for me, he didn’t want to oppress other people. But the other side was supporting an unpopular opinion within his peer group. If he had stood up for the American tradition of freedom and equality, he would have to deal with all the bigots at his church telling him he is on the side of the devil or whatever other lies they make up.

While I give Steve A LOT of credit for actually getting on the phone and calling me personally, I still a little disappointed he chickened out on making to decent decision. By abstaining he can say he didn’t support taking away my rights without having to defend his decision to less enlightened people. It’s very hard to stand up to peer pressure so I understand. I just hope if there is another vote he will stand up to bigots and help them realize that allowing full marriage equality will have zero effect on the lives of any straight people. Eventually their position will look as out of place as George Wallace trying to physically block black students from entering the University of Alabama.  Segregation was very popular but luckily the activist judges did thier job and protected the rights of the minority. We are not going to go away so the quickest way to get this out of the news is to give in and let history take its course.

Leave a Reply

